Apologies

It’s been 20 days since I last tried to contact the unit chief.  Within the last time I posted, I called the station 5 times on the days he was supposed to be working and everytime I was told he was not in.  So today, after my exams, I decided to try one last time.  I called his pager and left a message mentioning how I’ve been trying to get a hold of him for the last 3 weeks.  Guess what?  10minutes later, he called back!!  AWESOME.  He kept on apologizing for not having gotten back to me earlier.  Apologized 4 times during our 2min conversation (one at the very beginning when he introduced himself, another time when I asked if he got my letter and he said yes, then another two times near the end of the conversation).  He sounded like a nice, easy-going guy and said he’ll arrange the ride-alongs for me.  All I have to do is send him an email and give him my schedule of when I’m free.  So it seems like things are all set to go and my persistence did pay off.  Wait.  That’s exactly what I thought last time too…maybe I shouldn’t jinx myself.

Note:  The email he gave me over the phone was different from the email on his business card.  Perhaps it’s time he gets a new set of business cards 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
