Feeling Lucky

I was having a rough day a couple of days ago.  There was a reroute to UBC due to a homocide investigation along my bus route, so I got to school late and couldn’t finish up the translations I had to do for Japanese, not to mention I forgot that I had a quiz that day so I probably failed it.  I also woke up with my left eye swollen, so I had to go see my doctor, which meant I had to miss my next two classes along with not being able to pick up my marked essay which I needed for my final term paper. Having lost my U-Pass didn’t help either with all the transiting I had to do.  Basically, the whole day was a mess.  Then I received an email that made my horrible day feel like a miracle.  Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, but it definitely cheered me up.  

I sent each of the medics I did my ride-alongs with a thank you card.  I had a great time with them and really appreciated them going out of their way to show me the ropes.  In particular, I wanted to keep in touch with Paramedic H because I sensed that he cared and wanted to teach me what he knows.  I wasn’t lucky enough to get a busy night on my last ride-along, but in place of that he told me stories.  As he re-accounted the stories to me, I could see the twinkle of adrenaline, challenge, and passion in his eyes, he wanted me to experience the same feelings he had during those calls.  I can tell he loves his job. 

Hi Paramedic H,

I want to thank you for showing me around and explaining things to me during the ride-alongs with you and your partners.  I really appreciate it.  I remember you asked me what I thought, and if I wanted to be a paramedic after the first ride-along, well I’ve decided I definitely want to give it a go.  Is it possible to keep in touch if I have questions in the future?  If you’re okay with it, just drop me ‘Hi’ at email@gmail.com.  If not that is totally fine too.

Once again thank you!  It was a good experience.

Take care

I’ve been shot down so many times lately that I didn’t expect a reply.  Instead, I didn’t just get a simple, “Hi, feel free to contact me in the future if you have questions”, I got something much more valuable than that.

I’m glad you enjoyed the ride-a-long.
I try to give everyone enough info as possible. But it might be overload of info also.
Most people don’t seem to help with others coming into to this business unless they know someone on the inside.
No one gave me this chance when I started out, But I wanted you to have chance.
Everyone needs a chance in the beginning.
If that makes any sense.
I might be rambling on here.
If you have any questions  you can contact me here at this email, I be glad to hear from you.
And I will try to answer them the best I can.

Thank you for the very nice card.

I remember how I was disappointed at not being able to experience very many calls, but now that I think about it, I was really lucky to have been thrown twice into an ambulance where someone actually cared to explain things in detail to me and cared whether I got something out of it or not.  In the big picture, this was more important than getting to see many calls.  I accidentally ran into someone who’s willing to be my mentor and show me the ropes.  For him, my future patients and for all those who have helped me along the way, I want to do well in paramedic school and be the best medic I can ever be.  I want to ditch my degree that I’m so close to finishing and get started with this dream.  Waiting another year, getting through another year at university feels like torture.  But then I hear Jordin Spark’s song:

Hurry up and wait so close but so far away
Everything that you’ve always dreamed of
Close enough for you to taste but you just can’t touch

You wanna show the world but no one knows your name yet
Wonder when and where and how you’re gonna make it
You know you can if you get the chance
In your face and the door keeps slamming

Now you’re feeling more and more frustrated
And you’re getting all kind of impatient, waiting
We live and we learn to take

One step at a time there’s no need to rush
It’s like learning to fly or falling in love
It’s gonna happen and it’s suppose to happen
That we find the reasons why, one step at a time…

Her words ring true.  I got to take it one step at a time.  One step.  At.  A. Time.

Comments
3 Responses to “Feeling Lucky”
  1. Ingrid says:

    Hi! I know you don’t write on this blog anymore but if you see this comment I just want to let you know that I’ve found so much useful information here! I like this post in particular because I am a year and a half away from becoming a paramedic, only I’m finishing up high school, not university. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s had the same experience of being bored waiting to start PCP school. In the meentime I’m just getting experience volunteering for first aid at public events (different organization, not with St. John’s Ambulance). I learn so much from the content on your blog and all your stories are inspiring! Thank you very much for this excellent resource!

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
