Change

I have not written in a while simply because there has been nothing interesting for me to write about.  Another is because I’m very busy being bombarded by papers, assignments, projects and exams.  Here’s just a quick update:

Approximately two weeks ago, BC Ambulance Service was handed over to the Provincial Health Authorities.  I wonder if 10% of the public knows about this.  Very slick move by Gordon Campbell and Kevin Falcon in using the Olympics as a distraction for the media while slipping this through the back door.  I guess only time will tell what impact this will have on paramedic services in BC and patient care.

On the other hand, I got an email today saying that the Primary Care Paramedic programs are back up and running.  I will be applying for the Fall program and hopefully get started with what I’ve been dreaming of for over a year.  I guess staying at UBC this year to finish my degree wasn’t so bad after all, especially since the paramedic program hasn’t been running for the past 12 months.  Seems like things just sort of worked itself out in the end.

I will also be contacting the Unit Chief after my final exams at the end of April to see if I can do some more ride-alongs and gain some more experience.

For those in University, good luck with your final exams!

Comments
2 Responses to “Change”
  1. Jason Larece says:

    Any updates of the situation with BC Paramedics now that it’s 2011??

    • Coxinha says:

      Hi Jason,

      I’ve been hearing that they’re looking to integrate paramedics into hospital settings more, and considering offering part-time paramedics who work in rural areas some full-time opportunities (I’m assuming in hospitals) although none has been finalized. Things are still up in the air at the moment.

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
