One Step Closer

So I know earlier in some posts I mentioned how I planned to do my PCP before applying for licensing and then working.  Well after I spoke with several other paramedics, it seemed like a better idea to get my EMR license and work first to build seniority while I go through my PCP program.  So with some pushing, nudging, and guidance from a friend, I got my EMR license application mailed in two days ago, and today I handed in my BCAS application for employment.  I’ll now cross my fingers and hope everything goes smoothly.  Lots more interviews and exams to go.

I finished my night shift last night.  It was very busy, didn’t get much down time at all.  I was lucky to catch one hour of “sleep”.  Unfortunately during that one hour when I was trying to get some nice shut eye, Travis McCoy’s song kept on playing like a broken record in my head:

“I want to be a billionaire, sooo frickin bad…Buy all the things I never had.”

It was soooo frustrating.  When I did finally sort of doze off, we get a call.  Overall though, the Alpha shift was good, had a huge variety of different calls and had one very very funny patient who caused all of us to break down in laughter after trying to keep a straight face the whole call.

So that ends the block of ride-alongs.  I want to say THANK YOU to the paramedics for putting up with me and showing me the ropes.  It was a lot of fun and I learned a lot.  At the end of the day, I was told I can do more rides in the future with them.  That’s a very generious offer, but for now, gotta get all this application paperwork and studying done on top of other things. It took a while, but feel like I’m slowly starting to get somewhere.

Comments
5 Responses to “One Step Closer”
  1. Eze says:

    I thought seniority as an EMR didn’t count towards seniority as a PCP?

    Are you sure you won’t be brought back to 0 when you get your PCP license?

  2. Kevin says:

    There is no difference in seniority for license level. Some people with EMR will do PCP training 5-10 years later, and once they finish it they are eligible for and immediately get hired into full time jobs because they already had so much seniority.

    Good luck!

  3. Eze says:

    Excellent information you both. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
