No More Adrenaline Please!!

Had my first interview today which was for the PCP program.  I have to say that was one of the most nerve-racking experiences I’ve ever had.  I felt so calm going into it, and then they started asking me questions (despite the fact that they were all super nice) and my heart started to pump faster, and I could feel the adrenaline in my veins.  I remember telling myself, “NOOOOOOOO!!!! Calm down!  You need your brain!” as I tried breathing techniques and other meditation tactics while trying not to appear spacey to my interviewers.  It was futile though, my heart only raced faster and I could feel my hands get all shaky.

Since it was a behavioural interview I did a lot of talking, a lot of story telling.  I like telling stories, but after a while your throat gets dry and your tongue feels like it’s growing in size.  There was a beautiful jug of water that they offered us to pour into our cups if we wanted to drink, but I couldn’t get myself to pour myself a cup of water because my hands were shaking and I didn’t want them to see that I was super nervous!  So that jug of water sat on the table laughing at me during the whole interview.  I kept on telling myself:  “Don’t look at the water.  Stay Focused!”

Overall I answered 7-8 questions.  Each time I spoke, I wished my voice wouldn’t tremble on certain words.  There were moments that I got so caught up in telling my story that I forgot all about my nervousness, but once the examiners turned their focus on the other applicant I can feel my adrenaline going again.

This nervousness is abnormal for me.  Usually I get nervous before the interview, but once I start talking I calm down.  Today was the opposite.  I hope this doesn’t happen with the BCAS interview.  The last thing I need is to stare at another jug of water but be unable to pour it because I’m afraid the interviewers will see me trembling or the trembling will cause me to miss my cup and spill it all over the table.

Overall, the interview went great.  I was able to provide well rounded experiences from my volunteering with SJA to ride-alongs with BCAS, experiences working as a teacher and in summer camps, and yes, even my experiences in capoeira (a Brazilian martial art with elements of music, dance, and acrobatics).  As for the assessment tests, I didn’t find it difficult.  The first one (cognitive test) is basically an IQ test which you can’t study for, and the second medical knowledge test is based on EMR materials.

Only the BCAS interview left to go!  Countdown:  2 days

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
