The Call

I have decided to combine two posts into one.  Here’s an update on my interviews for school and work:

October 5, 2010

I parked the 15 seater outside of the school and decided to check my phone since I still had 10 minutes before the kids came out.  I got a voice message.  I listened and my heart started to pound.  It was from JIBC, it must be about the application for the Primary Care Paramedic Program.  I’ve been waiting anxiously for a good two weeks after the interview and all the assessments.  I called the lady back and she broke the good news to me:

I’m IN!

I was in disbelief.

It didn’t really hit me until I was driving home, admiring the beautiful sunset and the soft pink, purple and blue colours that reflected from the clouds that it really sank in.  This is it.  I’ve been chasing this for the past year and a half and it’s all slowly coming together.  My future is fixed starting in January.  I’ll be battling the stress of school, of exams, of endless studying.  Yet I feel utter joy.  Everything I was doing up until now, all the stress, all the chasing, it had all paid off and lead me to this point.

I want to thank all the people who believed in me, and pushed me forward.  So many people, some familiar faces, others strangers, have stepped in here and there, guiding me through, showing me the ropes, offering advice.  I can’t have gone this far without all of you.  Thank you.

October 7, 2010

I’ve been excited to check my mail everyday, and finally today, I received my employment letter from BCAS!  It was a fairly thick package.

I didn’t have time to jump and hoot because enclosed in that package were immediately more hurdles for me to hop through.  I have to get my physician to do a medical exam for me then I need to go through a physical assessment, and of course a criminal record check.

I’ve been hearing a lot of different stories about the physical test.  If it’s like the CPAFLA fitness test then I will pass no problem.  But I’ve heard from someone that I might have to lift 170lbs onto a shelf.  Now that wouldn’t be bad depending on the height of the shelf.  I can easily leg press over 300lbs but being 5″1 I’m not the tallest person in the world.  I can only use my legs up to a certain height and if the shelf is high, then I have only my upper body to utilize.  Bicep curling 170lbs has definitely not been on my previous to do list.  So I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what the physical involves.

I started the application for licensing in August and also applied for BCAS at the same time, it is now October.  I would say I won’t get through everything till the end of October at the earliest, so the whole process to get on the employment list takes about 3 months at the fastest.  I have a feeling that by the time I get a call from a Unit Chief (if everything goes smoothly), I’ll be into my PCP program already.  Hmmmm I wonder how that’s gonna work out…  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

Comments
5 Responses to “The Call”
  1. Mvrk says:

    You won’t have to lift 170 pounds onto a shelf…I think the heaviest weight was maybe 70 pounds, if that. The fitness test is nothing to worry about…it’s in place to weed out the morbidly obese.

  2. hearts says:

    Congratulations! I heard the rumour about 160 pounds lifting too on yahoo answers! I have no clue how that’s even possible…

  3. Tim says:

    Congrats on getting in, I got the call yesterday for Vic JI-PCP in Jan.

    Looking forward to following your posts as I take the same course!

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
