Back and so Starts the Primary Care Paramedic Program

I’m just here to say that I’m back from my trip.  I had a good time but it was very tiring.  I’m still suffering from jet lag and it has been several days since I’ve returned.  I’m hoping it’ll correct itself soon as I am pretty tired of waking up at 4 in the morning and looking outside only to see pitch black.  I’d much prefer to sleep until the sun’s up.

There are some thoughts I would like to post, but things are rather busy right now, so I will have to leave those thoughts for another time.

The Primary Care Paramedic (PCP) program online portion (Clinical Sciences 200) having started a couple of days ago.  I had completed 99% of the workbook before I left on my trip, but haven’t gotten most of the material in my head yet.  So every night it’s study time after work (yes I’m procrastinating right now).

I went to the PCP Boot Camp a couple of days ago.  They had some good tips on study strategies and orienting you to the campus, and log-ins to library, websites, blackboards etc etc.  But what I liked most about it was getting to meet some of the people I’ll be working with for the next 5 months and getting a chance to hear from the current PCP students who just went through the course.  The Boot Camp was a good kick in the butt for me that this course is real and it’s really happening (I’ve always felt somewhat detached from online courses).

To summarize some of the key points I’ve gotten from the orientation:

“Everything’s grey.”

“Study in portions, portions, portions: 15min on 15min off.  (Hey, doesn’t that sound like applying ice?).”

“You Will Have NO Life. Be prepared to eat, live, breath, sleep, bathe paramedicine for the next 5 months.”

“You will be stressed out and pushed to your limits, but you will also have the time of your life.”

Excited yet?  I am 😀

Comments
2 Responses to “Back and so Starts the Primary Care Paramedic Program”
  1. silvia says:

    well, take comfort in the fact that in the next 5 months, I too will have no life if i want to graduate on time.

    congrats!

    • C says:

      It feels weird to take comfort in another’s pain/suffering or whatever you want to call it. I guess we can both have no life together 🙂 Good luck with your Master’s “stuff”. Graduate soon so I can see you again 😉

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
