2nd Anniversary

 

Creative Commons License

Future

It’s this time of year again! January 19th, two years since I started this blog.  Every year I like to look back to see what I have accompli shed.  Looking back, I’m satisfied to say that this year has been very productive, a bit stressful and I didn’t get much of a break, but productive.

Here’s a quick timeline of my accomplishments since last year to getting into the ambulance service:

Jan 19 – March 2010
Worked my butt off my last year of undergraduate studies
Did a bunch of volunteer work, some for the olympic winter games

April
Finished the Bike Patrol Course with SJA

May
Got OFA3 Certified
Graduated from University

June
Finished the EMR course and got certified

July
Did some ride-alongs and made some rookie mistakes
Applied to BC Ambulance Service (BCAS)
Applied to the Primary Care Paramedic (PCP) Program

Aug
Got EMR Licensed through the EMALB

Sept
Did the interviews for PCP and BCAS

Oct
Got accepted into the PCP program and also with BCAS
Passed the BCAS Employment Assessments

Nov
Got hired with the ambulance service and had my first orientation

Dec
Started the PCP program
Had my first patient as a paramedic

Jan, 2011
Finally had time to procrastinate a little
PCP in-class starts

I know when I first started this blog I wanted to outline the journey from where I was, to working with the ambulance service as paramedic.  I guess you can say I “sort of” got to where I wanted to be.  However, the journey is far from over, because in this profession the journey never ends, the learning never ends.  I still have many more goals yet to achieve (PCP, ACP, and possibly CCP?) and so this blog will keep on rolling.

For the blog’s anniversary, I decided to make an effort to help others who are going through the same journey as me.  Hence I started the Questions page, and also posted Got Questions?  Need Answers? Hopefully these pages will help others find the information they need to get to where they want to be.

I just want to say thank you to all the readers, and especially those who left comments and had given me advice along the way.  This blog has grown immensely because of all of you.  Also, I can’t thank my family, friends, and mentors enough (you know who you are), without your support I don’t think I could have gotten to where I wanted to be in such a short period of time.  So a big Thank You to all of you!

Comments
4 Responses to “2nd Anniversary”
  1. silvia says:

    Yo, have you ever explained what all those acronyms are? I still don’t know most of them.

    Congrats on a productive year! Wish I could say the same…6 months left (hopefully)!

    • Coxinha says:

      Acronyms…I use it so often on my blog that sometimes I feel like I’m repeating myself over and over again xD Sorry!

      SJA= St John Ambulance
      OFA3 = Occupational First Aid 3
      EMR = Emergency Medical Responder
      BCAS = British Columbia Ambulance Service
      PCP = Primary Care Paramedic
      ACP = Advanced Care Paramedic
      CCP = Critical Care Paramedic
      EMALB = Emergency Medical Assistants Licensing Board

      Good luck with finishing off your thesis 🙂

  2. Jodie says:

    Hey mate! Just thought I’d tell you I passed my PCP licensing exam on Sunday! I feel unbelievable right now… your blog is just how I felt through the whole time I was in school! Good luck!

    • Coxinha says:

      Hey Jodie,

      Congrats on the pass! I’m looking forward to finishing my program 🙂 Good luck with everything! Maybe I’ll see you on car/out into the field someday

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
