Exhausted

I’m not sure what it is, but this week has been a mess for me.  I’m just not mentally there, and have been finding it very difficult to focus in class or even study.  Been feeling tired all the time, and I really took it slack this week.  Making sure to sleep lots, and not over study.  In fact, I barely studied this week (thankfully I did a lot of readings ahead the week before).  I’m not sure if the one week off school (clinical week) threw me off or if I pushed myself too hard the first month or whether I haven’t been getting enough exercise due to the compact course (I swear, there should be a physical component to the course).  I don’t want this to be a depressing post, but just wanted to note that I’m feeling somewhat burnt out this week, which is kind of sad because things are getting more interesting.

What do I mean by more interesting?  Well the calls are not so much “paint by numbers” but you gotta start thinking about what’s really going on with a patient, and predict based on mechanisms of injury, vitals, history amongst other things whether you run a protocol or not.  I like the aspect where we have to take pieces of a puzzle, such as our knowledge of anatomy, physiology/pathophysiology, our “detective work”–evidence gathered on the scene from damage to a vehicle (in a motor vehicle accident), to stories from bystanders etc, and our patient’s signs and symptoms, and piece it all together.  At the moment, we are only getting a taste of this detective work since we’re in our trauma block (which overall is quite simple and doesn’t involve too much complexity).  I can’t wait till we get into medical block, where calls get more interesting, complex, and decisions become more difficult.

More and more, being a paramedic is feeling like being a medical detective.  Things we do, starting IV lines, or giving medications or other interventions involve putting the evidences together to back up your reasoning behind doing a certain protocol or treatment.  Everything is gray, and your job is to part the gray to find out which side is more black or more white and then choosing a side.

Crossing my fingers that my bouts of tiredness will end coming week since exams are creeping up once again, not to mention vehicle extrication day!  Yes, trying to stay positive =)

Comments
5 Responses to “Exhausted”
  1. JH says:

    When I find myself feeling that way, I make the decision to do something different from my normal routine. For me, it’s laying on the floor, anatomical position, preferably in a patch of sunshine, and closing my eyes for 5 or so minutes. I focus on the feeling of the carpet underneath me, the clock ticking, the screen door squeaking, the furnace turning on and blowing air through the vents. When I start feeling that ‘lack of interest’ it means that I’m focusing too hard on studying and I need to force myself to chilllllllll out, even if it’s for a few minutes. I suppose it’s meditation, but it’s the quick version. Best of luck to you 🙂

    • Coxinha says:

      Hi JH,

      I feel a lot better this week. I think it’s like you said, I took last friday to hang out with some friends, and pretty much all of Sunday doing something different. I made sure to get enough sleep this week, tease in a bit of studying, and hit the gym tonight. Feeling pretty good 🙂 The lying in the sun sounds awesome…too bad there’s only rain here these days 😦

      C

  2. Eze says:

    Hey! It’s pretty normal to have a reaction to stress after-the-fact, once the storm has passed (during a break, for example).

    Stay positive! Remember stress is ALL about perception. You’re doing great and you’re gonna continue to do great. You were made for this!

    Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. And remember…

    “What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.”

    Stay safe,

    -Eze

    • Coxinha says:

      Hey Eze,

      Thanks a ton! I’m feeling pretty good this week though 🙂 Kinda got the groove back. Trauma written exam is on friday, then practicals tuesday.

      Thanks again for the wonderful comments 🙂 Will definitely give you a shout if need be.

      • Eze says:

        And keep in mind my place is 10mins away from the JI. Dont hesitate to give me a shout if you wanna come grab a bite or you need a place to crash; you’re always welcome!

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
