I’m Still Alive!

Creative Commons License

Narcan 0.4mg

So I realize I have not posted in quite some time.  Just wanted to say that yes I am still here and going strong!  I’ve just been really busy.  I was burning out from school a couple of weeks ago, and had to really step back to take one day out of each week to myself where I do absolutely nothing related to paramedicine.  Three weeks ago, I also started exercising again because I was sick of feeling lethargic and completely grossed out with myself.  Anyways I’m back up to my normal self now and feeling quite good.

We are now in our medical block portion of our PCP program.  They call it “Hell Week”, but to be quite honest, I’ve found it to be quite relaxing compared to the first month of school.  However, there are quite a few new protocols, so that, keeping up with readings, spending a couple of days at work, and finding days for myself meant I haven’t had time to write here.  Today we finished up our last protocol which is the NYD (Not Yet Diagnosed) protocol for the unconscious patient.  The protocols we have learned include:

AED
Pain
Hypovolemia
Cardiac Chest Pain
Shortness of Breath
Diabetic
Anaphylaxis
Narcotic Overdose
Not Yet Diagnosed (Unconscious)

Out of all the protocols I enjoy doing the narcotic, anaphylaxis and diabetic ones the most since we actually see a change and difference we make in these patients with the medications we give.  Those are also fun protocols where you’re kept busy with adminstering medications, getting the patient ready for transport, monitoring your fluid lines and taking vitals.  I suppose I like to be kept busy.

Pig Lung. Photo courtesy of S.Hayter

 

Last week, we had an interesting day which involved dissecting a pig’s heart in order to learn the anatomy/physiology of the heart, which was kind of cool.  We also got to bag a pig’s lung and watch it inflate.  The organs were bought that morning and so were still “fresh”.  It was really cool to see the lungs pink up once the bagging started.  What was more cool was seeing the lungs rise as all the alveoli filled up, and being able to feel what bagging an actual lung feels like.  We even simulated a knife wound and could hear the ssssss of the air leaking out as well as see the hallmark foamy bubbles of a pneumothorax.  I was amazed how well the lungs ventilated when the hole was plugged with a finger.

One more month of in-class left!  Then precepting (on-car clinicals) starts, I can’t wait 😀

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
