The Finish Line

Creative Commons License

PCP Collar Dogs

So as of yesterday, I have officially finished all my licensing requirements for my PCP (primary care paramedic) license :D.  It was a long day, but a perfect day for an exam (there was a rain storm with wind warnings outside, aka plain miserable).  The practical exam consisted of three full scenario calls and one skills station.  The calls were very straight forward, and the evaluators were pleasant and did their best to ease our anxiety.  Needless to say, I had adrenaline pumping the whole day from 08:00-16:30.  I’ve never been so stressed, nervous, anxious, and excited for an exam before.  It felt like all that hard work since January 2009 had all come down to one exam.  That this was it, this was the big one.  I remember after my last call, I just crashed on the couch exhausted but happy to be done.  

So I guess technically the journey this blog was meant to capture has come to an end.  From the beginning 2.5yrs ago when one story lead me down this path, to now  (I’m standing here, still stunned and in disbelief).  From the little time I’ve been out on the streets, I know I have found my calling and absolutely love every moment of this profession.  I still feel the passion I had felt two years ago and I hope for it to stay for a long time to come.  

Does this mean it is the end for this blog?  The answer is no.  I plan to continue writing what I experience out on the streets, after all, the fun had only just begun.

I want to say a big thank you to all those who had been involved in helping me reach my goals (you know who you are).  I have met many amazing people along the way, and I can’t be more thankful.  Thank you!

Comments
10 Responses to “The Finish Line”
  1. Congrats! I’m glad you won’t stop blogging, I love to read your writing and am looking forward to more. And hopefully I’ll get the chance to work with you some day!

  2. Eyana Smith says:

    I absolutely love your blog! I am currently in the process of becoming a paramedic in nyc and it feels wonderful to know that i am not the only one in this lol
    Congrats and best of luck in your journey!
    as we say in ny “Dont kill no body!!! lol

  3. grinmedic says:

    I’m so happy for you! All that hard work has paid off at last! I look forward to working on car with you 😀

  4. G says:

    Congrats, I just found your blog yesterday and found it to be very intresting, as I am going through the same steps. I just hoped that I would have read it earlier. But congrats to you.

  5. Jack says:

    Congratulations mate!

    I’m also looking to become a paramedic myself.
    Always great to hear other people’s thoughts on the whole process.
    Good luck out there.

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
