Officially One Years Old!

Today, at exactly 9:00am is my first anniversary in the ambulance service. I’m now officially a paramedic toddler πŸ™‚

I wish there’s some crazy post I can write here to celebrate, but nothing too remarkable has happened aside from some wonderful opportunities that had opened up for me recently at JIBC.

It has been a relatively smooth sailing for me within the year I was with the service. I still remember my first call, a rollover down an embankment, which I almost shit my pants and how far I’ve gone in terms of confidence, knowledge, and comfort in the field. There’s still tons more for me to learn and I welcome all the challenges with open arms.

Thanks everybody who’s been keeping up with this blog, and those who have left wonderful comments behind. It means a lot! Have a good one πŸ™‚

Comments
25 Responses to “Officially One Years Old!”
  1. Bella says:

    Congrats! Wish you many more good years to come.

  2. Congratulations! Nice first call, hope you have great years to come!

  3. everdeenedge says:

    Hey!

    Really glad I found your blog, it’s been very interesting reading your experiences from both your school program and your actual calls on shift. I just applied for two PCP programs in Ontario, I’ve already done a Bachelor’s in genetics and a Master’s in biotechnology but have realized that office work and most work I’m qualified for just does not fit my personality and what I want in a career. My dad is a firefighter so he’s the one who got me onto the idea of being a paramedic. It’s going to be a long 3-4 month wait finding out whether I’ve gotten in or not! I love the idea of the blog and think I might chronicle my journey as well. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • PocketMedic says:

      Hi Everdeenedge,

      What a nice comment to read in the morning πŸ™‚

      What are the two programs/schooled offered in Ontario?

      Haha if you don’t like office work, you’re looking in the right field πŸ˜‰

      I’m glad I inspired you with my stories. Let me know when you start blogging about your journey, would love to read it πŸ™‚ Best of luck!

      • everdeen says:

        I applied to programs at Humber and Centennial colleges. They are the ones where I live right now (the Toronto area) and since I’d like to stay in this area it made sense to just apply to those ones. It will make it easier to get employment here after graduation.

        Now that I’ve decided what I want to do, I’m getting antsy because I just want to get started! But I have to wait to be accepted first haha

        In the meantime, I’ll read about everyone else’s experiences until I can contribute my own πŸ™‚

      • PocketMedic says:

        Lol I remember feeling exactly the same way πŸ™‚

        The paramedic schooling in Ontario takes two years am I correct? Are there pre-requisites to the course? (Trying to learn more about how the system works in other provinces)

        Also I hear it’s really difficult to get hired in Ontario, is that true?

  4. Bella says:

    Your blog inspires so many people. I was so glad to find your post about agonal breathing. It helped me during my studying. I gave your blog site to my friends and they love it. It’s great to read others people journey. So Everdeen, I would be interested in your journey too :-). I couldn’t found any blogs from EMRs/EMTs/Paramedics in Alberta. So maybe I should blogging about my journey? πŸ˜‰

    • PocketMedic says:

      Hi Bella,

      Yeah that’d be a great idea, it’s always interesting to see the differences between other countries and provinces. If you do start blogging, pop me your link πŸ™‚

      What program are you currently in? EMT?

  5. Bella says:

    Sure, I’ll send you the link if I start blogging. I finished my EMR and had my Alberta College of Paramedic Exam last weekend. Passed the scenrario exam. I don’t have the results from the written exam yet. I would like to do an EMT program as well.

    • PocketMedic says:

      Congrats on passing the EMR πŸ™‚ What are the main schools for paramedicine in alberta? And how long is the program (EMT)?

  6. everdeen says:

    Yep, they are all two year programs with about 500 hours of ride-outs. Really the only prerequisites are having high school biology, chemistry, math and english, as well as having standard first aid and cpr certification. The schools are very competitive, most of the people applying already have undergraduate degrees, so you need high marks. You get bonus admission points (for Humber at least) if you have experience in a hospital/crisis centre (which I do, I was a phone line volunteer with the distress centre).

    I’m honestly not too sure about getting hired in Ontario, I have been seeing conflicting statements all the time. Some people say there are no jobs, other people say there are jobs but if you are a strong candidate then it won’t be a problem. Really, there aren’t many jobs in most fields because of the way the economy is. So hopefully two years down the road it will be a different story (provided I’ve gotten into the program).

    Speaking to both my paramedic friend and my dad, neither of them seem to think getting hired will be an issue. I guess we will see!

    • everdeen says:

      I do know that in the region of Peel which is the region I am in, they are building a number of new satellite and reporting stations that will be completed over the next few years. So that may translate into more jobs becoming available!

  7. Bella says:

    Thanks! πŸ™‚ Those are the following approved (Alberta College of Paramedics) EMT schools in Alberta:
    Alberta Health and Safety Training Institute, Emergency Services Academy Ltd., Flatline Response Inc., Keyano College, Lacombe Municipal Ambulance Service Association, Lakeland College, NAIT, Northern Lakes College, Portage College, Professional Medical Associates and SAIT.
    Emergency Services Academy Ltd. (ESA) is one of the best in Edmonton. I would love to do my EMT there.

    The full time program length are vary because you have to wait until you get a practicum spot. In generell it needs 6-12 month.
    Every school is different. Some of them have different hour requirements. The tuition fees vary too. A lot of people go to schools were they pay less. ESA is one of the more expensive ones but it is worth it.
    Here are the program details from ESA.
    Length: 350 Didactic Hours; Hospital Practicum (Minimum 60 Hours); Transfer Practicum (Minimum 40 Hours – Subject to availability); Ambulance Practicum (Minimum 192 Hours and 30 Calls – so if you haven’t your 30 calls you have to do more hours)
    ESA owns an ambulance which is used extensively in the EMS programs. Also, they have a full selection of EMS equipment.

    How long is the program in B.C.?

    • PocketMedic says:

      How much is the program at ESA?

      There are two schools in BC, JIBC and AET. JIBC is the more well known school and has been around much longer than AET.

      The JIBC program is a condensed program. It includes 1 month self-study/online (anatomy & physiology) then a 4 month in-class portion and then precepting and clinicals (anywhere from 1-3 months). Precepting you do a minimum of 12 shifts = 144hrs, however you must meet all the competencies required to meet the national standards. So you may go out for more than 12 shifts until you get all the types of calls needed. There are 3 in-hospital clinical shifts to the program.

      It seems that some people come over to BC just for the shorter duration of the program.

      • Bella says:

        The tuition is 8350$. Do you get people from other provinces to do there EMT in B.C.?

      • PocketMedic says:

        Sorry for the super late reply, I just noticed it. Yes people from other provinces do come to BC to take the course depending on what they’re looking for.

      • PocketMedic says:

        Sorry for the super late reply, I just noticed it. Yes contact JIBC, but the school definitely take others from across Canada as far as I’m aware.

        Cheers

  8. Courtney Crowell says:

    Hi, I just applied for a pcp program in PEI. I love you blog and find it very interesting and helpful. Its getting me eexcited and very nervous to get started. Thanks so much. Keep blogging! And congratts! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • PocketMedic says:

      Hi Courtney,

      Glad my blog has had an impact on you πŸ™‚ It’s a great pleasure to hear. Excitement and nervousness sounds right to me πŸ˜‰ Have fun!! It’s a great job

Leave a Reply

  • Courage is the discovery that you may not win, and trying when you know you can lose. -Tom Krause
